Tour Sign-ups: The Degenerates by J. Albert Mann

/ Jan 31, 2020

Hello FFBC team!!  We are announcing a new tour we're hosting for The Degenerates that is being released March 17th, 2020.


The reviews only tour will run from March 11th to March 17th and there will be available the following types of posts:
  • Review (Limited spots)
  • Favourite Quotes (Blogger's Choice)
  • Playlist (Blogger's Choice)
  • Dream Cast (Blogger's Choice)
  • Promotional Post
Remember that March 24th is reserved for the Welcome Post, so do not pick March 24th in the sign-up form.

Reviewers will receive a digital copy of the book through NetGalley. So make sure you are able to accept this format and/or have an NG account before signing up to this tour.

Physical copies will be available for bloggers based in the US and interested in participating in our bookstagram.

As always, there will be a tour giveaway provided by the author. Details to come soon!

IMPORTANT NOTE: Signing up for the tour does not guarantee you will be selected. We will reach out to all hosts that have been chosen once the sign-ups have closed and the tour schedule has been published.





The Degenerates

by J. Albert Mann
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 17th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Girl, Interrupted, this fiery historical novel follows four young women in the early 20th century whose lives intersect when they are locked up by a world that took the poor, the disabled, the marginalized—and institutionalized them for life.

The Massachusetts School for the Feeble-Minded is not a happy place. The young women who are already there certainly don’t think so. Not Maxine, who is doing everything she can to protect her younger sister Rose in an institution where vicious attendants and bullying older girls treat them as the morons, imbeciles, and idiots the doctors have deemed them to be. Not Alice, either, who was left there when her brother couldn’t bring himself to support a sister with a club foot. And not London, who has just been dragged there from the best foster situation she’s ever had, thanks to one unexpected, life altering moment. Each girl is determined to change her fate, no matter what it takes.


J. Albert Mann is the author of six novels for children, with S&S Atheneum Books for Young Readers set to publish her next work of historical fiction about the Eugenics Movement and the rise of institutionalism in the United States. She is also the author of short stories and poems for children featured in Highlights for Children, where she won the Highlights Fiction Award, as well as the Highlights Editors’ Choice Award. She has an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts in Writing for Children and Young Adults, and is the Director of the WNDB Internship Grant Committee. 

Jennifer is represented by Kerry Sparks at Levine Greenberg Rostan Literary Agency.
Continue Reading

Tour Schedule: The Deep by Alma Katsu

/ Jan 30, 2020


The Deep

by Alma Katsu
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Release Date: March 10th 2020
Genre: Horror, Historical Fiction, Adult
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

Someone, or something, is haunting the Titanic.

This is the only way to explain the series of misfortunes that have plagued the passengers of the ship from the moment they set sail: mysterious disappearances, sudden deaths. Now suspended in an eerie, unsettling twilight zone during the four days of the liner's illustrious maiden voyage, a number of the passengers - including millionaires Madeleine Astor and Benjamin Guggenheim, the maid Annie Hebbley and Mark Fletcher - are convinced that something sinister is going on . . . And then, as the world knows, disaster strikes.

Years later and the world is at war. And a survivor of that fateful night, Annie, is working as a nurse on the sixth voyage of the Titanic's sister ship, the Britannic, now refitted as a hospital ship. Plagued by the demons of her doomed first and near fatal journey across the Atlantic, Annie comes across an unconscious soldier she recognises while doing her rounds. It is the young man Mark. And she is convinced that he did not - could not - have survived the sinking of the Titanic . . .


Alma Katsu is the author of The Hunger, a reimagining of the story of the Donner Party with a horror twist. The Hunger made NPR’s list of the 100 Best Horror Stories, was named one of the best novels of 2018 by the Observer, Barnes & Noble, Powell’s Books (and more), and was nominated for a Stoker and Locus Award for best horror novel.

The Taker, her debut novel, has been compared to the early works of Anne Rice and Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander for combining historical, the supernatural, and fantasy into one story. The Taker was named a Top Ten Debut Novel of 2011 by Booklist, was nominated for a Goodreads Readers Choice award, and has been published in over 10 languages. It is the first in an award-winning trilogy that includes The Reckoning and The Descent.
Ms. Katsu lives outside of Washington DC with her husband, musician Bruce Katsu. In addition to her novels, she has been a signature reviewer for Publishers Weekly, and a contributor to the Huffington Post. She is a graduate of the Johns Hopkins Writing Program and Brandeis University, where she studied with novelist John Irving. She also is an alumni of the Squaw Valley Community of Writers.

Prior to publication of her first novel, Ms. Katsu had a long career in intelligence, working for several US agencies and a think tank. She currently is a consultant on emerging technologies. Additional information can be found on Wikipedia and in this interview with Ozy.com.



March 10th


March 11th

Kait Plus Books - Interview
Sometimes Leelynn Reads - Review + Playlist + Dream Cast

March 12th

Mythical Books - Guest Post
Bookishaestha - Review + Favourite Quotes
dinipandareads - Review + Favourite Quotes

March 13th

L.M. Durand - Guest Post
Alys in Bookland - Review
Gwendalyn’s Books - Review + Favourite Quotes
Mahkjchi's Not-So-Secret Books - Review + Favourite Quotes

March 14th

The Reading Corner for All - Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Bookishly Nerdy - Review
Story-eyed Reviews - Review + Favourite Quotes

March 15th

Hooked on Bookz - Review
Foals, Fiction & Filigree - Review + Favourite Quotes
Books.Bags.Burgers - Review + Favourite Quotes
Northern Plunder - Review
Books_andPoetrii - Review + Favourite Quotes

March 16th

Your Words My Ink - Review + Favourite Quotes
PopTheButterfly Reads - Review
BoundbyWords - Review + Favourite Quotes


Continue Reading

Tour Schedule: All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban

/ Jan 29, 2020


All Your Twisted Secrets

by Diana Urban
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: March 17th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

This thrilling debut, reminiscent of new fan favorites like One of Us Is Lying and the beloved classics by Agatha Christie, will leave readers guessing until the explosive ending.

Welcome to dinner, and again, congratulations on being selected. Now you must do the selecting.

What do the queen bee, star athlete, valedictorian, stoner, loner, and music geek all have in common? They were all invited to a scholarship dinner, only to discover it’s a trap. Someone has locked them into a room with a bomb, a syringe filled with poison, and a note saying they have an hour to pick someone to kill … or else everyone dies.

Amber Prescott is determined to get her classmates and herself out of the room alive, but that might be easier said than done. No one knows how they’re all connected or who would want them dead. As they retrace the events over the past year that might have triggered their captor’s ultimatum, it becomes clear that everyone is hiding something. And with the clock ticking down, confusion turns into fear, and fear morphs into panic as they race to answer the biggest question: Who will they choose to die?


I’m Diana Urban, and I write dark, twisty thrillers for teens including All Your Twisted Secrets (HarperTeen, March 17th 2020). When I’m not torturing fictional characters, I’m a marketing manager at BookBub, a leading book discovery platform. Outside the bookish world, I live with my husband and cat in Boston, and enjoy reading, video games, fawning over cute animals, and looking at the beach from a safe distance.



March 17th

March 18th

Wishful Endings - Guest Post
Moonlight Rendezvous - Review + Favourite Quotes
Dazzled by Books - Review
Bookmark Lit - Review
A Dream Within A Dream - Review

March 19th

A Book Addict's Bookshelves - Interview
Shalini's Books & Reviews - Review
Here's to Happy Endings - Review + Favourite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader - Review
Hauntedbybooks - Review + Favourite Quotes

March 20th

Sometimes Leelynn Reads - Review + Dream Cast
The Heart of a Book Blogger - Review
SleepyDoe Reads - Review
everywhere and nowhere - Review
The Radiant Reader - Review + Favourite Quotes

March 21st

Morgan Vega - Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Corner for All - Review + Playlist
Fanna Wants The World To Read - Review
Paperbacks & Pen - Review + Favourite Quotes
For The Love of Fictional Worlds - Review

March 22nd

L.M. Durand - Guest Post
Yna the Mood Reader - Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookish Connoisseur - Review
Popthebutterfly Reads - Review
Books_andPoetrii - Review

March 23rd

Continue Reading