Tour Schedule: Spellhacker by M.K. England

/ Nov 16, 2019


Spellhacker

by M.K. England
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
Release Date: January 21st 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

No pressure.


M.K. England is an author and librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls rural Virginia home. When she’s not writing or librarianing, MK can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the gaming table, digging in the garden, or feeding her video game addiction. She loves Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in her presence. You’ll regret it. 

THE DISASTERS is her debut novel. Follow her at www.mkengland.com.



January 15th


January 16th

For The Love of Fictional Worlds - Review + Favourite Quotes + Author's Reaction
Becky’s Book Blog - Review + Favourite Quotes
BookCrushin - Review
Kait Plus Books - Review

January 17th

Musings of a (Book) Girl - Story Behind The Cover
Books of Amber - Review

January 18th

NovelKnight - Official Book Playlist
Magical Reads - Review + Playlist

January 19th

Belle's Archive - Review + Favourite Quotes
Moonlight Rendezvous - Review + Favourite Quotes
The Book Lyst - Review

January 20th

Artsy Draft - Review + Favourite Quotes + Author's Reaction
L.M. Durand - Review
Confessions of a YA Reader - Review + Favourite Quotes
BookBriefs - Review

January 21st

To All The Books I've Read Before - Skype or Video Interview



COMING SOON!

Continue Reading

Tour Sign-Ups: Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei #1) by Abigail Hing Wen


Hello FFBC team!!  We are announcing a new tour we're hosting for Loveboat, Taipei that is being released January 7th, 2020.


The reviews only tour will run from January 1st to January 7th and there will be available the following types of posts:
  • Review (Limited spots)
  • Favourite Quotes (Blogger's Choice)
  • Playlist (Blogger's Choice)
  • Dream Cast (Blogger's Choice)
  • Promotional Post
Remember that January 1st is reserved for the Welcome Post, so do not pick January 1st in the sign-up form.

Reviewers will receive a digital copy of the book through Edelweiss. So make sure you are able to accept this format and/or have an EW account before signing up to this tour.

As always, there will be a tour giveaway provided by the author. Details to come soon!

IMPORTANT NOTE: Signing up for the tour does not guarantee you will be selected. We will reach out to all hosts that have been chosen once the sign-ups have closed and the tour schedule has been published.





Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei #1)

by Abigail Hing Wen
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 7th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Travel, Asian Literature
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?


Abigail was born in West Virginia to a family of immigrants: Her mother is from the Philippines and her father from Indonesia, and her grandparents emigrated to those countries from Fujian and Shandong provinces in China. 

Abigail grew up in Ohio and graduated from Harvard University and Columbia Law School. She worked in Washington DC for the Senate, as a law clerk for a federal judge. and now in Silicon Valley in venture capital and artificial intelligence. She also earned her Master of Fine Arts in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts. 

In her spare time, she enjoys long walks with her husband and two boys, and hanging out with friends and over 100 family members in the Bay Area. She loves music and dances to it when no one is watching.


Continue Reading

Tour Schedule: Beyond the Shadowed Earth (Beneath the Haunting Sea) by Joanna Ruth Meyer

/ Nov 15, 2019


Beyond the Shadowed Earth (Beneath the Haunting Sea)

by Joanna Ruth Meyer
Publisher: Page Street Kids
Release Date: January 14th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

It has always been Eda’s dream to become empress, no matter the cost. Haunted by her ambition and selfishness, she’s convinced that the only way to achieve her goal is to barter with the gods. But all requests come with a price and Eda bargains away the soul of her best friend in exchange for the crown.

Years later, her hold on the empire begins to crumble and her best friend unexpectedly grows sick and dies. Gnawed by guilt and betrayal, Eda embarks on a harrowing journey to confront the very god who gave her the kingdom in the first place. However, she soon discovers that he’s trapped at the center of an otherworldly labyrinth and that her bargain with him is more complex than she ever could have imagined.

Set in the same universe as Joanna’s debut, Beneath the Haunting Sea, Beyond the Shadowed Earth combines her incredible world building and lush prose with a new, villainous lead.


Joanna Ruth Meyer hails from Mesa, Arizona, where she lives with her dear family, a rascally feline, and an enormous grand piano. When she’s not writing, she’s trying to convince her students that Bach is actually awesome, or plotting her escape from the desert. She loves good music, thick books, looseleaf tea, rainstorms, and staring out of windows. One day, she aspires to own an old Victorian house with creaky wooden floors and a tower (for writing in, of course!).



January 8th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club - Welcome Post

January 9th 

NovelKnight - Guest Post
The Reading Corner for All - Review + Favourite Quotes
onemused - Review
TheGeekishBrunette - Review
Becky’s Book Blog - Review + Favourite Quotes

January 10th

A Book Addict's Bookshelves - Interview
Book-Keeping - Review
Moonlight Rendezvous - Review + Favourite Quotes
Allisa White’s Book Blog - Review
Write, Read, Repeat - Review

January 11th

Bookish Looks - Guest Post
moon & coffee. - Review + Playlist
Cover to Cover Book Blog - Review
Book Blog London - Review
A Dream Within A Dream - Review

January 12th

Sometimes Leelynn Reads - Review + Favourite Quotes
Shalini's Books & Reviews - Review
Belle's Archive - Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Chemist - Review
In Between Book Pages - Review + Favourite Quotes

January 13th

Whispers & Wonder - Review
Paws and Paperbacks - Review
Ideally Inspired Reviews - Review
The Reading Faery - Review
Foals, Fiction & Filigree - Review + Favourite Quotes

January 14th

L.M. Durand - Interview
Womanon - Review
A Gingerly Review - Review
Bewitchingwords - Review + Playlist
Nay's Pink Bookshelf - Review + Favourite Quotes


COMING SOON!

Continue Reading