Tour Sign-Ups: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

/ Jun 23, 2020

Hello FFBC team!!  We are announcing a new tour we're hosting for The Black Kids that is being released August 4th, 2020.


The tour will run from July 29th to August 18th and there will be available the following types of posts:
  • Review (Limited spots)
  • Interview (Limited spots)
  • Guest Post (Limited spots)
  • Favourite Quotes (Blogger's Choice)
  • Playlist (Blogger's Choice)
  • Dream Cast (Blogger's Choice)
  • Promotional Post
Remember that July 29th this reserved for the Welcome Post, so do not pick July 29th in the sign-up form.

Reviewers will receive a digital copy of the book through NetGalley. So make sure you are able to accept this format and/or have an NG account before signing up to this tour.

Physical copies of the book may be available for US bloggers willing to participate on our Bookstagram.

Please ensure you can accept both types of formats before signing up to this tour since we cannot ensure everyone will get a physical copy.

As always, there will be a tour giveaway provided by the author. Details to come soon!

IMPORTANT NOTE: Signing up for the tour does not guarantee you will be selected. We will reach out to all hosts that have been chosen once the sign-ups have closed and the tour schedule has been published.





The Black Kids

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young
Release Date: August, 4th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Contemporary
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?


Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. A native of the Los Angeles area, her work has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review and One Teen Story. The Black Kids is her first novel.

No comments:

Post a Comment