Friday, August 14, 2015

Tour Schedule: Pieces of Why by K. L. Going




Pieces of Why
by K. L. Going
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Release Date: September 8th 2015
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World andThe Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine.

Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.


KL Going is the award winning author of books for children and teens. Her first novel, Fat Kid Rules the World was named a Michael Printz honor book by the American Library Association, as well as one of the Best Books for Young Adults from the past decade. Her books have been Booksense picks, Scholastic Book Club choices, Junior Library Guild selections, winners of state book awards, and featured by Publishers 

Weekly, School Library Journal, and Children's Book Council as Best Books. Her work has been published in Korea, Italy, Japan and the UK. 

KL began her career working at one of the oldest literary agencies in New York City. She used this inner knowledge of publishing to write Writing and Selling the Young Adult Novel -- a how-to book for aspiring writers, published by Writer's Digest. She has also written short stories for several anthologies and currently has two picture books under contract for future release. She currently lives in Glen Spey, NY where she both writes and runs a business critiquing manuscripts. To visit KL on-line go to www.klgoing.com.






Ink of Blood - Review + Dream Cast
A Dream Within A Dream - Promotional Post


Teen Readers' Diary - Interview
Deliciously Savvy - Promotional Post


Crystal's Chaotic Confessions - Promotional Post


Literary Meanderings - Interview
Miss Magee's Reads - Review + Favorite Quotes


The Cover Contessa - Promotional Post


Reading Wonderland - Review + Favorite Quotes
The Bookish Angel - Review + Favorite Quotes
Beatrice Learns To Read - Promotional Post



1st Prize: Win a signed galley of Pieces of Why, a Fat Kid movie, a signed Fat Kid original book cover, a signed poster of Saint Iggy and Read Great Books bumper sticker (US Only)

2nd Prize: Win a signed galley of Pieces of Why, a signed paperback of The Liberation of Gabriel King, a sign poster for The Garden of Eve and a Read Great Books bumper sticker (US Only)

3rd Prize: Win a signed galley of Pieces of Why, an audio edition of The Garden of Eve, a signed poster for The Garden of Eve and a Read Great Books bumper sticker (US Only)




3 comments:

  1. Fat Kid was the best and love the movie but I didn't find out the author wrote other books. The fact she wrote Saint Iggy is amazing and I should have made the connect to it. Also I been looking for Garden of eve for so long I once saw it in a scholastic book catalog but lost it and forgot the title. Glad I found it and can't wait to read her books! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Saint Iggy is the book that taught me not everything you read or write has to be picture perfect. It was probably one of the most truthful, blunt, beautiful "teen books" I've read. And now, even though I've moved on to Shakespeare and Henry David Thoreau, I still go back and re-read St. Iggy for old time sake; it's just that great. I eventually want to read Fat Kid because of how great the movie was, and how honest the characters seemed. KL Going, you are awesome, and I absolutely admire your talent and passion for writing. Glad to be a part of the contest/giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you for the awesome giveaway! ❤️

    ReplyDelete