Tour Schedule: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

/ Mar 31, 2015



The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
by Stephanie Oakes
Publisher: Dial/Penguin
Release Date: June 9th 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Retelling, Contemporary, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Thriller
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.


Stephanie Oakes is a teacher and YA author from Washington State. Her debut novel, THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY (Dial/Penguin, June 9, 2015), about a girl who escapes from a religious commune only to find herself at the center of a murder investigation, is based on the Grimm fairy tale, "The Handless Maiden."

THE ARSONIST, her second YA mystery through Dial/Penguin, is scheduled for publication in fall 2016.




YA Midnight Reads - Guest Post
Ink of Blood - Review
A Perfection Called Books - Review + Favorite Quotes
Once Upon a Twilight - Promotional Post


The Magic Of Words - Interview
luminous words - Review
Reading is My Treasure - Review + Favorite Quotes


No BS Book Reviews - Interview
DanaSquare - Review + Playlist + Favorite Quotes


Paper Cuts - Review + Playlist + Favorite Quotes
Bookish Outsider - Review
Bibliophilia: A Love Story - Review + Playlist + Dream Cast


Teen Readers' Diary - Guest Post
Such a Novel Idea - Review + Playlist


Book Rebels - Review + Favorite Quotes
My Book Muse - Review


2 comments: